News & Media

A closer look at the Mastercard Hopman Cup 2018 field 

4 October 2017, by Hopman Cup

The teams that will contest Mastercard Hopman 2018 comprise one of the strongest fields in the event’s 30-year history. In 2018, Perth will welcome:

Three top 10 players: Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Svetlana Kuznetsova

Six current top 20 players: Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Svetlana Kuznetsova, David Goffin, Angelique Kerber, Coco Vandeweghe

Ten current top 40 players: Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Angelique Kerber, David Goffin, Coco Vandeweghe, Jack Sock, Daria Gavrilova, Elise Mertens, Yuichi Sugita

Eight players who recorded career-high rankings during 2017: Alexander Zverev (No.4 in September), David Goffin (No.10 in February), Jack Sock (No.14 in April), Coco Vandeweghe (No.16 in September), Daria Gavrilova (No.20 in August), Karen Khachanov (No.29 in August), Elise Mertens (No.38 in September), Yuichi Sugita (No.40 in October)

Seven ATP / WTA singles title winners amassing 16 titles in total during 2017: Roger Federer (5), Alexander Zverev (5), Jack Sock (2), Daria Gavrilova (1), Elise Mertens (1), Yuichi Sugita (1), David Goffin (1)

Three ATP / WTA doubles title winners during 2017: Alexander Zverev (1), Coco Vandeweghe (1), Thanasi Kokkinakis (1)

Eight current or former top 10 singles players: Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Anqelique Kerber, David Goffin, Eugenie Bouchard, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Belinda Bencic

Three Grand Slam singles champions: Roger Federer, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Anqelique Kerber. Total Grand Slam titles: 23

Three Grand Slam doubles champions: Jack Sock, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Vasek Pospisil

Six junior Grand Slam singles champions: Daria Gavrilova, Jack Sock, Coco Vandeweghe, Alexander Zverev, Roger Federer, Belinda Bencic

One of the past four junior Australian Open boys’ champions: Alexander Zverev (2014)

Four former junior world No.1s: Roger Federer (1998), Daria Gavrilova (2010), Belinda Bencic (2013), Alexander Zverev (2013)

Three Olympic medallists: Jack Sock (Rio 2016 mixed doubles gold, men’s doubles bronze), Roger Federer (Beijing 2008 men’s doubles gold, London 2012 men’s singles silver), Angelique Kerber (Rio 2016 women’s singles silver)

Two former Hopman Cup champions: Roger Federer (2001), Daria Gavrilova (2016)

Two Davis Cup / Fed Cup champions: Roger Federer (2014), Svetlana Kuznetsova (2004, 2007, 2008)

Nine returning players, including six from last year: Roger Federer – 2001, 2002, 2017; Daria Gavrilova – 2016, 2017; Jack Sock – 2016, 2017; Coco Vandeweghe – 2017, Alexander Zverev – 2016, 2017; Belinda Bencic – 2017, Vasek Pospisil – 2015, Eugenie Bouchard – 2014, 2015, Svetlana Kuznetsova – 2006

Seven players making their Mastercard Hopman Cup debut: David Goffin, Angelique Kerber, Karen Khachanov, Elise Mertens, Yuichi Sugita, Naomi Osaka, Thanasi Kokkinakis

Player rankings according to ATP and WTA (as of 2 October 2017) are as follows:

Australia  [212] Thanasi Kokkinakis and [22] Daria Gavrilova
Belgium [11] David Goffin and [38] Elise Mertens
Canada [84] Vasek Pospisil and [79] Eugenie Bouchard
Germany [4] Alexander Zverev and [12] Angelique Kerber
Japan [40] Yuichi Sugita and [62] Naomi Osaka
Russia    [42] Karen Khachanov and [9] Svetlana Kuznetsova
Switzerland  [2] Roger Federer and [196] Belinda Bencic
USA [21] Jack Sock and [16] Coco Vandeweghe

The record for the longest-period between winning Hopman Cup titles is 12 years, held by Spain’s Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario. Federer can equal this if he wins the Mastercard Hopman Cup in 2018.

Belgium, Canada and Japan have never won the Hopman Cup before.