News & Media

Mastercard Hopman Cup 2017 by the numbers

5 October 2016, by

The field for Mastercard Hopman Cup 2017  includes Grand Slam heroes, rising stars and returning champions … 

Four current top 20 players: Roger Federer, Nick Kyrgios, Petra Kvitova, Richard Gasquet

Eight current top 40 players: Roger Federer, Nick Kyrgios, Petra Kvitova, Richard Gasquet, Alexander Zverev, Jack Sock, Coco Vandeweghe, Feliciano Lopez

Nine players who recorded career-high rankings during 2016: Belinda Bencic (No.7 in February), Nick Kyrgios (No.15 in September), Jack Sock (No.22 in January), Alexander Zverev (No.24 in September), Coco Vandeweghe (No.29 in June), Daria Gavrilova (No.32 in May), Daniel Evans (No.53 in September), Lara Arruabarrena (No.61 in September), Adam Pavlasek (No.80 in September)

Eight ATP / WTA singles title winners during 2016: Feliciano Lopez, Nick Kyrgios, Alexander Zverev, Richard Gasquet, Coco Vandeweghe, Lara Arruabarrena, Heather Watson, Petra Kvitova

Four ATP / WTA doubles title winners during 2016: Feliciano Lopez, Coco Vandeweghe, Lara Arruabarrena, Kristina Mladenovic

Five current or former top 10 singles players: Roger Federer, Richard Gasquet, Andrea Petkovic, Belinda Bencic, Petra Kvitova

Two Grand Slam singles champions: Roger Federer, Petra Kvitova. Total Grand Slam titles: 19

Five Grand Slam doubles / mixed champions: Jack Sock, Heather Watson, Richard Gasquet, Kristina Mladenovic, Feliciano Lopez

Ten junior Grand Slam singles champions: Nick Kyrgios, Daria Gavrilova, Jack Sock, Coco Vandeweghe, Alexander Zverev, Heather Watson, Richard Gasquet, Kristina Mladenovic, Roger Federer, Belinda Bencic

Two of the past four junior Australian Open boys’ champions: Nick Kyrgios (2013), Alexander Zverev (2014)

Seven former junior world No.1s: Roger Federer (1998), Richard Gasquet (2002), Kristina Mladenovic (2009), Daria Gavrilova (2010), Belinda Bencic (2013), Nick Kyrgios (2013), Alexander Zverev (2013)

Four Olympic medallists: Jack Sock (Rio 2016 mixed doubles gold, men’s doubles bronze), Petra Kvitova (Rio 2016 women’s singles bronze), Roger Federer (Beijing 2008 men’s doubles gold, London 2012 men’s singles silver), Richard Gasquet (London 2012 men’s doubles bronze)

Four former Hopman Cup champions: Roger Federer (2001), Petra Kvitova (2012), Nick Kyrgios (2016), Daria Gavrilova (2016)

Three Davis Cup / Fed Cup champions: Feliciano Lopez (2011, 2009, 2008, 2004), Roger Federer (2014), Petra Kvitova (2015, 2014, 2012, 2011)

The record for the longest-period between winning Hopman Cup titles is 12 years, held by Spain’s Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario. Federer can better this if he wins Hopman Cup 2017.

The Australian team of Kyrgios and Gavrilova is aiming to become the first duo to defend a Hopman Cup title in the tournament’s history.

Great Britain is the only nation in the field yet to win the Hopman Cup.

Eleven returning players, including five from last year: Roger Federer – 2001, 2002; Kristina Mladenovic – 2011; Petra Kvitova – 2012, 2014; Richard Gasquet – 2012; Andrea Petkovic – 2013; Adam Pavlasek – 2015; Heather Watson – 2015, 2016; Nick Kyrgios – 2016; Daria Gavrilova – 2016; Jack Sock – 2016; Alexander Zverev – 2016

Five players making their Hopman Cup debut: Belinda Bencic, Daniel Evans, Feliciano Lopez, Lara Arruabarrena, Coco Vandeweghe.

Player rankings according to ATP and WTA (as of 3 October 2016) are as follows:

Australia [15] Nick Kyrgios and [49] Daria Gavrilova
Czech Republic  [85] Adam Pavlasek and [11] Petra Kvitova
France [17] Richard Gasquet and [57] Kristina Mladenovic
Germany [24] Alexander Zverev and [44] Andrea Petkovic
Great Britain [56] Daniel Evans and [76] Heather Watson
Spain [28] Feliciano Lopez and [61] Lara Arruabarrena
Switzerland [7] Roger Federer and [43] Belinda Bencic
USA  [25] Jack Sock and [40] Coco Vandeweghe