News & Media

All eyes on Hyundai Hopman Cup for 2013

9 October 2012, by Hopman Cup

In a first for the Hyundai Hopman Cup, Network Ten will broadcast day and night sessions of the event free-to-air on primary channel TEN as well as being live streamed across Australia on multiple platforms.

“We’re delighted to bring the Hyundai Hopman Cup to a wider audience than ever before,” said Event Director Steve Ayles. “The ultimate for any live sport fan is to be able to access the action anywhere, at anytime, from any device, and that’s what we will deliver for Hyundai Hopman Cup in 2013,” he said.

Under the new broadcast arrangement day sessions will be broadcast live across Australia on TEN*, with all night sessions broadcast in prime time on TEN.

Tennis fans in Australia will also be able to view the Hyundai Hopman Cup tennis action live online across web, mobile and tablet platforms – with all 13 sessions streamed on the TEN website at and the event website

David Barham , Head of Sport, Network Ten said: “Network Ten is thrilled to be broadcasting the Hopman Cup nationally on TEN. With such an impressive line-up of international tennis greats converging on Perth, the competition is the perfect complement to TEN’s summer schedule.”

Internationally, ESPN Star Sports has renewed their agreement for a further two years, guaranteeing coverage of the event across 27 territories throughout Asia, with coverage also guaranteed in other key territories, across the Americas, Europe and the Middle East. Further arrangements for coverage in participating nations are currently underway.

Former world No.8, Olympic bronze medallist and Hopman Cup stalwart Alicia Molik, 1988 US Open semifinalist and former coach of Lleyton Hewitt and Andre Agassi Darren Cahill, and two-time Grand Slam champion Fred Stolle will head up the commentary team, along with TEN hosts Tim Gossage and Mark Howard.

Hyundai Hopman Cup 2013 will be the twenty-fifth staging of the ITF Mixed Teams’ Championship and will kick off the ITF’s one-hundredth anniversary.

The field, ranked according to combined ATP and WTA rankings (as at 1/10/2012), is as follows:

  1. Serbia Novak Djokovic and Ana Ivanovic
  2. USA John Isner and Venus Williams
  3. Italy Andreas Seppi and Francesca Schiavone
  4. Spain Fernando Verdasco and Anabel Medina Garrigues
  5. Germany Tommy Haas and Andrea Petkovic
  6. South Africa Kevin Anderson and Chanelle Scheepers
  7. France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Mathilde Johansson
  8. Australia Bernard Tomic and Casey Dellacqua

Stats on the field

  • Nine of the 16 players are current or former top 10
  • Two top 10 players: Novak Djokovic, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
  • Four top 15 players: Novak Djokovic, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, John Isner, Ana Ivanovic
  • Four current/former Grand Slam singles Champions: Novak Djokovic, Ana Ivanovic, Venus Williams, Francesca Schiavone
  • Five Grand Slam singles finalists: Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Venus Williams, Novak Djokovic, Ana Ivanovic, Francesca Schiavone
  • Eight returning players: Djokovic 2006, 2008, 2011; Ivanovic 2006, 2011; Verdasco 2012;Medina Garrigues 2012; Dellacqua 2009;Isner 2010, 2011; Haas 2005; Schiavone 2002, 2005, 2011
  • Eight players will make their Hyundai Hopman Cup debut:Bernard Tomic, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Mathilde Johansson, Venus Williams, Andrea Petkovic, Kevin Anderson, Chanelle Scheepers, Andreas Seppi.

* Matches may conclude on ONE if they overrun scheduled news broadcasts.